Zachary Wilson Receives Algernon Sydney Sullivan Foundation Scholarship at Rust College

Freshman Zachary Wilson of Columbus, Miss., was named the newest beneficiary of the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Foundation Scholarship at Sullivan Foundation partner school Rust College.

Wilson held many leadership positions while attending high school and has been very active since arriving on the Rust campus.  He is Rust College’s newly elected Mr. Freshman and is the brother of Cameron Wilson, who has been named Mister Rust College.

Related: Eric Johnson develops Rust Innovation Lab to promote leadership and entrepreneurship at Rust College

Tianna Smith of Houston, Tex,, was awarded Rust College’s first Sullivan Scholarship in 2019. Smith is active at Rust College through basketball, the NAACP and her position as Sophomore Class Officer.

The Sullivan Scholarships recognize college students and members of the college community who put service to others before self-interest. Scholarship recipients must report their service and/or social entrepreneurship activities, engage in Sullivan Foundation marketing efforts on campus and attend one Sullivan-sponsored weekend retreat during their freshman and sophomore years.

The Sullivan Scholarship provides $10,000 for attending a Sullivan Foundation partner school and is renewable for four years.

Rust College receives Sullivan Scholarship funding in the form of an endowment from the Sullivan Foundation. In 2018, the foundation began a strategic planning process to redesign its existing scholarship program in order to deepen its relationship with students, faculty, and schools. The foundation ultimately determined to collaborate with its partner schools in the creation of a redesigned scholarship program that not only supports service-minded students, but also engages students, faculty and staff in the foundation’s programming, including twice-yearly Ignite Retreats for student changemakers and faculty, study-abroad opportunities and entrepreneurship support.

The Sullivan Foundation also offers opportunities to become Sullivan Ambassadors on its partner school campuses. Eric Johnson, who currently serves as Rust’s Student Government Association president, is also a Sullivan Ambassador. Eric is the founder of the new Rust Innovation Lab on the Rust College campus.

Related: Special education major Morgan Crowe receives Sullivan Scholarship at Lees-McRae College

Dr. Vida Mays, the Sullivan Foundation campus liaison and Rust College’s director of grants and contracts, will work with Wilson and fellow scholarship recipients over the coming years to attend retreats and field trips to further develop their community leadership skills.

Located in Holly Springs, Miss., Rust College is a historically black, co-educational, senior liberal arts college founded in 1866 by the Freedmen’s Aid Society of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Rust College was founded to offer quality programs in business, education, humanities, science and math, and social science to prepare students for leadership and service in the global society.

Ben Herbertz Receives Prestigious Sullivan Foundation Scholarship at Lees-McRae College

Ben Herbertz, an Emergency Medical Services and Management (EMSM) major and cyclist at Lees-McRae College, is the school’s next recipient of the prestigious Sullivan Foundation Scholarship.

A freshman from Indianapolis, Indiana, Herbertz was named the newest beneficiary of the Sullivan Foundation Scholarship totaling $10,000 in funding each year.

A recent graduate of Herron High School in downtown Indianapolis, Herbertz pursued Lees-McRae as a means to continue his athletic career as a cyclist while earning his EMSM degree. He said the EMSM program’s small class sizes, state-of-the-art simulators and enthusiastic professors supported his life-long involvement with Boy Scouts of America.

“[In Boy Scouts of America] I had the opportunity to learn lifesaving skills and get hands-on in emergency situations,” Herbertz said. “This is important to me because if I’m going to be a paramedic I want to have the best training possible, and I believe that I have found that at Lees-McRae.”

The Algernon Sydney Sullivan Foundation presents scholarships to students at 25 private colleges and universities across the American South. First established at Lees-McRae in 1936, the Sullivan Scholarship is awarded to one incoming freshman who demonstrates exemplary personal character and a commitment to service above self. Additionally, the selected student must exhibit noble character as the aggregate of features and traits related to ethical and moral values, including honesty, morality, ethics, integrity, responsibility, determination, courage, and compassion as evidenced by service in the community.

Amy Anderson, the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Foundation campus liaison at Lees-McRae College and dean of business and management, will work with Herbertz and fellow scholarship recipients over the coming years. They will attend retreats and field trips to further develop their community leadership skills.